Introduction

Remixing Rural Texas is an innovative and exciting project funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and led by Shannon Carter, PhD from Texas A&M University – Commerce. With a team that includes graduate students from Political Science, English and RTV, we are a diverse group who come at this project with a vast amount of experience and multiple perspectives.

I completed my MA in English and a certificate in Film Studies on May 12, 2012 and began working towards my PhD in June. I have a BFA in Art History from the University of North Texas and much of my graduate work has been focused on Film Aesthetics with a deep concentration on the work of film director Terrence Malick.

I was invited to work on this project after completing a graduate course in New Media with Dr. Carter in the Spring of 2011. My final project for that course was a re-mix video that included art, film and archival materials.  As an art historian, I also worked on a large project in the archives of TAMU where I catalogued the Oral History Collection. Because of my background in art, experience in the archives, and work with Dr. Carter in New Media, my role in this project is focused on the aesthetics of the project as well as deep research in the archives.

Using the archives, both local and national, I search for visual material relevant to each narrative. Further, I am archiving the Ivory Moore Collection that was donated to TAMU in the Spring of 2012. My experience with New Media and Re-mix Culture has given me a deeper understanding of the work that we are creating.

Further, working on this project has given me a deep understanding of Critical Race Theory and its goals. I continue to be inspired by the work of Dr. Carter and other scholars who stand for the transformation of race, racism and the power of media.

Jennifer Jones

